© eyetronic
View from Scheffelterrasse © eyetronic

Alt-Heidelberg, du feine,
Du Stadt an Ehren reich,
Am Neckar und am Rheine
Kein' andre kommt dir gleich.

— Joseph Victor von Scheffel, 1826–1886


Heidelberg Castle

Heidelberg CastleBesides the Old Bridge and the Neckar river the impressive castle ruin is one of the most popular sights in Germany and belongs to the landmarks of Heidelberg. The castle was built in the 13th Century as a fortress from the red sandstone of the Neckar Valley. Later it served as residence for the Electors until its destruction in the War of Palatine Succession (1689). The castle has been rebuilt several times over the centuries by the electors and consists today stylistic elements of three different eras. From the Old Town you can reach the castle by foot or funicular railway.

Old Town (Altstadt)

© Gerhard FriedrichThe Main Street (Hauptstraße) leads from Bismarck’s Square (Bismarckplatz) to Karl’s Gate (Karlstor) right through the Old Town. With a length of 1,6 km (1 mile) it is considered as one of the longest pedestrian areas of Germany. After the War of Palatine Succession the baroque buildings were built on the old fundaments of the ruins. Heidelberg remained unharmed by the two world wars which preserved its authentic past.

Old Bridge (Alte Brücke)

© Olga SpeckThe Old Bridge is about 230 years old and is named after its founder, the Elector Karl Theodor. Once it was considered to be an important trade route and only link between Frankfurt and Basel. Together with the castle and the Neckar river it is one of the landmarks of Heidelberg. From the Old Bridge you go through the Stone Alley (Steingasse) to the Market Square (Markplatz) and the Chruch of the Holy Spirit (Heiliggeistkirche).

The Knight’s Inn

© Philipp SpeckThe The Knight’s Inn with its magnificently decorated facade is considered to be one of the oldest buildings in Heidelberg. It was built in 1592 by the huguenot cloth merchant Belier in Renaissance style and survived all wars and town fires. After the War of Palatine Succession, it served as a temporary town hall. Since the end of the Thirty Years War, it is used as a tavern and inn.

Church of the Holy Spirit

The Church of the Holy Spirit is situated at the Market Square, in the centre of the Old Town. Originally it was erected as the burial place for the prince electors and housed the Palatinate Library, a valuable collection of medieval manuscripts, which were carried off during the Thirty Years War. As a spoil of war the library was granted to the Vatican. The Church combines gothic and baroque architecture at the same time.

Philiosopher’s Walk

© Olga SpeckOn sunny days you can enjoy a wonderful view from the Philosopher’s Walk on the Neckar river, the old town and the castle, located above it. The Philosophers Walk runs 1.5 km (0,9 miles) parallel to the Neckar river at the foot of the Holy Mountain directly through the former vineyards.
The Philosopher’s Garden is a place for relaxation and an oasis. Due to the mild climate, exotic plants, such as almond and orange trees are flourish there. Even famous philosophers and poets have been inspired by this magical place.

Heidelberg University

The Heidelberg University with its 12 faculties was founded in 1386 by Ruprecht I. It is the oldest university in Germany. From the 148.000 inhabitants of Heidelberg about 30.000 are students. In former times the university had its own jurisdiction. Till 1914 the students who broke the order were put into the Student’s Jail (Karzer). Nowadays the Karzer is one of the most popular tourist attractions in Heidelberg. The inner walls of the cells are painted with the various inscriptions and drawings. The Old Assembly Hall (Alte Aula), a representative hall of the university, is presented in Neo-Renaissance style and decorated with the wooden panels and also deserves the tourists attention.

© eyetronic
Ausblick von der Scheffelterrasse © eyetronic

Alt-Heidelberg, du feine,
Du Stadt an Ehren reich,
Am Neckar und am Rheine
Kein' andre kommt dir gleich.

— Joseph Victor von Scheffel, 1826–1886

Sehenswürdigkeiten

Heidelberger Schloss

© Philipp SpeckDie imposante Schlossruine ist eine der beliebtesten Sehenswürdigkeiten Deutschlands und gehört neben der Alten Brücke und dem Neckar zu den Wahrzeichen von Heidelberg. Das Schloss wurde im 13. Jahrhundert als Wehrburg aus dem roten Sandstein des Neckartals erbaut und diente später, bis zur Zerstörung im Pfälzischen Erbfolgekrieg (1689), als Residenz der Kurfürsten. Über die Jahrhunderte wurde es von den Kurfürsten mehrfach baulich verändert und zeigt heute Stilelemente aus drei Epochen. Von der Altstadt erreicht man das Schloss am besten zu Fuß oder mit der Bergbahn.

Altstadt

© Gerhard FriedrichDie Hauptstraße führt vom Bismarckplatz bis zum Karlstor mitten durch die Altstadt. Mit einer Länge von 1,6 km gehört sie zu den längsten Fußgängerzonen Deutschlands. Die barocken Bauten wurden nach der Zerstörung im Pfälzischen Erbfolgekrieg auf den alten Fundamenten errichtet und haben seitdem Bestand. Heidelberg blieb von der Verwüstung beider Weltkriege weitgehend verschont.

Alte Brücke

© Olga SpeckDie Alte Brücke ist knapp 230 Jahre alt und nach ihrem Erbauer, dem Kurfürsten Karl Theodor, benannt. Einst galt sie als wichtiger Handelsweg und einzige Verbindung zwischen Frankfurt und Basel. Zusammen mit dem Schloss und dem Neckar gehört sie zu den Wahrzeichen der Stadt. Von der Alten Brücke gelangt man durch die Steingasse zum Marktplatz und der Heiliggeistkirche.

Haus zum Ritter

© Philipp SpeckDas Haus zum Ritter St. Georg mit der prachtvoll verzierten Fassade ist eines der ältesten Bauten Heidelbergs. Es wurde 1592 von den Tuchhändlern Belier im Renaissance-Stil erbaut und überlebte als einziges Gebäude der Stadt alle Kriege und Stadtbrände. Nach dem Pfälzischen Erbfolgekrieg diente es zeitweilig als Rathaus. Seit Ende des Dreißigjährigen Krieges wird es als Gaststätte betrieben.

Heiliggeistkirche

Philipp SpeckAm Marktplatz, im Zentrum der Altstadt, befindet sich die Heiliggeistkirche. Sie wurde ursprünglich als Grabmal der Kurfürsten errichtet und beherbergte die Bibliotheca Palatina, eine wertvolle Sammlung mittelalterlicher Schriften, die 1623 als Kriegsbeute im Dreißigjährigen Krieg in den Vatikan verschleppt wurde. Die Kirche gilt als Zeuge gotischer und barocker Baukunst zugleich, da sich in ihr Elemente aus beiden Epochen vereinen.

Philosophenweg

© Olga SpeckAn sonnigen Tagen genießt man vom Philosophenweg einen herrlichen Ausblick auf den Neckar, die Altstadt und das darüberliegende Schloss. Der Philosophenweg verläuft ca. 1,5 km parallel zum Neckar am Fuße vom Heiligenberg direkt durch die früheren Weinberge.
Das Philosophengärtchen ist Ruheort und Oase zugleich. Bedingt durch das milde Klima wachsen hier exotische Pflanzen und Bäume wie Mandelbäume und Orangen. Sogar berühmte Philosophen und Dichter haben sich von diesem magischen Ort inspirieren lassen.

Heidelberger Universität

Die Heidelberger Universität mit ihren 12 Fakultäten wurde von Ruprecht I. 1386 gegründet und ist die älteste Universität Deutschlands. Von den aktuell 148.000 Einwohnern sind ca. 30.000 Studenten. Früher hatte die Universität ihre eigene Gerichtsbarkeit. Bis 1914 mussten Studenten, die gegen diese Ordnung verstießen, ihre Haftstrafen im Karzer absitzen. Der Studentenkarzer ist eine der Hauptattraktionen für Touristen, da sich die „Sträflinge“ mit Sprüchen und Malereien an den Wänden verewigten. Sehenswert ist außerdem die im Neorenaissance-Stil gestaltete Holzverkleidung der Alten Aula, dem Repräsentationssaal der Universität.